Home » News & Blogs » China launches four satellites on Long March 2C rocket
Bookmark and Share
Spaceflight Now

China launches four satellites on Long March 2C rocket

6 May 2021, 23:45 UTC
China launches four satellites on Long March 2C rocket
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

A Long March 2C rocket lifts off Thursday with four Chinese satellites. Credit: Xinhua
Three Chinese military satellites and a civilian data relay payload launched Thursday aboard a Long March 2C rocket.
The four spacecraft rocketed into a 370-mile-high (600-kilometer) orbit from the Xichang launch base, situated in a mountainous part of Sichuan province in southwestern China, with a liftoff at 1811 GMT (2:11 p.m. EDT) Thursday.
Launch occurred at 2:11 a.m. Beijing time Friday, according to the China Academy of Launch Vehicle Technology, or CALT, the government-owned contractor that proceed the Long March 2C rocket.
Officials declared the mission a “complete success,” according to a CALT statement. U.S. military tracking data indicated the two-stage, liquid-fueled rocket delivered its payloads to the intended orbit inclined 35 degrees to the equator.
The satellites are the eighth triplet of Yaogan 30-type spacecraft since 2017 launched on Long March 2C rockets from the Xichang facility into similar orbits. The three Yaogan 30-08 satellites launched Thursday are designed for “electromagnetic environmental detection and related technological tests,” China’s state-run Xinhua news agency said.
The Chinese government uses the Yaogan name for the country’s military satellites, and the Yaogan 30 family is believed to be designed ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod