Home » News & Blogs » Crew Dragon return postponed again by poor weather
Bookmark and Share
Spaceflight Now

Crew Dragon return postponed again by poor weather

30 Apr 2021, 13:35 UTC
Crew Dragon return postponed again by poor weather
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

NASA astronaut Shannon Walker, pilot Victor Glover, Crew-1 commander Mike Hopkins, and Japanese astronaut Soichi Noguchi on the International Space Station. Credit: ESA/NASA/Thomas Pesquet
The departure and return to Earth of a four-person space station crew on a SpaceX Dragon capsule has been postponed again by high winds in the splashdown zone in the Gulf of Mexico. NASA and SpaceX officials are evaluating the next undocking and splashdown opportunity.
The Crew Dragon spacecraft with NASA commander Mike Hopkins, pilot Victor Glover, Japanese astronaut Soichi Noguchi, and outgoing International Space Station commander Shannon Walker were originally supposed to come back to Earth on Wednesday.
NASA announced earlier this week that high winds in the Gulf of Mexico exceeded the Crew Dragon capsule’s limits for a safe splashdown, and rescheduled the ship’s undocking from the space station for 5:55 p.m. EDT (2155 GMT) Friday, setting up for a landing at sea Saturday around 11:36 a.m. EDT (1536 GMT).
The space agency said late Thursday that wind conditions in the Gulf of Mexico remained unfavorable for the return of the Crew-1 mission.
“Mission teams from NASA and SpaceX will meet again on Friday to further review opportunities for the safe return of Crew-1,” ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod