Home » News & Blogs » Penumbral Lunar Eclipse, morning June 6, 2020.
Bookmark and Share
Astroblog

Penumbral Lunar Eclipse, morning June 6, 2020.

4 Jun 2020, 12:52 UTC
Penumbral Lunar Eclipse, morning June 6, 2020.
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Western horizon as seen from Sydney on June 6 at 5:25 am AEST. The eclipse is at its deepest. Click to embiggenWestern horizon as seen from Adelaide on June 6 at 4:55 am ACST. The eclipse is at its maximum extent. Click to embiggenWestern horizon as seen from Perth on June 6 at 3:25 am AWST. The eclipse is at its maximum extent. Click to embiggenThis year sees three penumbral lunar eclipses, unfortunately, they are all very poor. On the morning Saturday, June 6 the second of these eclipses will occur. This is a relatively poor penumbral eclipse, but most of Australia gets to see mid-eclipse under fairly dark conditions. The subtle darkening of the Moon as it passes through Earth's shadow may be hard to distinguish (see here for January's better penumbral eclipse). Morning sky on Saturday, June 6 showing the whole sky as seen from Adelaide at 4:55 am ACST (maximum eclipse depth). Three bright planets are visible high above the northern horizon with the eclipsed Moon below the pair of Jupiter and Saturn. Similar views will be seen elsewhere at the equivalent local time click to embiggen. Unfortunately, like the January 11 eclipse the June 6 eclipse ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod