Home » News & Blogs » SpaceX to kick-start global 2020 launch year with Starlink mission
Bookmark and Share
NASASpaceFlight.com

SpaceX to kick-start global 2020 launch year with Starlink mission

6 Jan 2020, 14:35 UTC
SpaceX to kick-start global 2020 launch year with Starlink mission
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The first rocket flight of the 2020s is upon us as SpaceX prepares to use their Falcon 9 to deliver the newest batch of 60 operational Starlink satellites into orbit.
The mission not only represents the start of a busy year for SpaceX but also for the Eastern Range in Florida, which expects 48 launches this year from the Florida Spaceport.
Falcon 9 is targeting a launch tonight midway through a 20-minute window that extends from 21:09 to 21:29 EST (02:09 – 02:29 UTC on 7 January), with a preferred in-plane liftoff targeted for 21:19 EST (02:19 UTC).
Starlink mission:
Tonight’s mission represents the third overall Starlink flight and second batch of operational Starlinks SpaceX will launch.
In keeping with previous Starlink launches, the mission will utilize and already-flown Falcon 9 first stage, in this case Core B1049.4.
Falcon 9 ascends from SLC-40 with the first batch of operational Starlink satellites in November 2019. (Credit: Mike Deep for NSF/L2)
This booster previously launched the Telstar 18 VANTAGE mission from Florida in September 2018, the Iridium-8 flight in January 2019 from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, and the Starlink 1 flight in May 2019.
See AlsoFalcon 9/Starlink Flight 3 UPDATESSpaceX Missions ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod