Home » Press Releases » New Movie Shows Ultima Thule from an Approaching New Horizons
Bookmark and Share
New Horizons

New Movie Shows Ultima Thule from an Approaching New Horizons

15 Jan 2019, 05:16 UTC
New Movie Shows Ultima Thule from an Approaching New Horizons NASA/Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory/Southwest Research Institute

This movie shows the propeller-like rotation of Ultima Thule in the seven hours between 20:00 UT (3 p.m. ET) on Dec. 31, 2018, and 05:01 UT (12:01 a.m.) on Jan. 1, 2019, as seen by the Long Range Reconnaissance Imager (LORRI) aboard NASA's New Horizons as the spacecraft sped toward its close encounter with the Kuiper Belt object at 05:33 UT (12:33 a.m. ET) on Jan. 1.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod