FEATURED IMAGE: 6 Nov 2018, 15:00 UTC | ALMA and MUSE Detect Galactic Fountain 14 November 2018, 7:01:22UTC RSS RSS | About | Contact | Site Map
Home » Press Releases » ICESat-2: Tower Rollback Friday, Live Launch Coverage Saturday
Bookmark and Share
NASA Kennedy Space Center

ICESat-2: Tower Rollback Friday, Live Launch Coverage Saturday

14 Sep 2018, 17:13 UTC
ICESat-2: Tower Rollback Friday, Live Launch Coverage Saturday

The ICESat-2 mission will measure the changing height of Earth’s glaciers, ice sheets and sea ice, one laser pulse at a time, 10,000 laser pulses per second. Credit: NASA
NASA’s Ice, Cloud and land Elevation Satellite-2, or ICESat-2, a mission to measure the changing height of Earth’s ice, is scheduled to launch Saturday, Sept. 15, with a 40-minute window opening at 5:46 a.m. PDT (8:46 a.m. EDT). The spacecraft will lift off from Space Launch Complex 2 (SLC-2) at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California on the final launch of a United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket. The U.S. Air Force 30th Space Wing weather officer reported they are predicting a 100 percent chance of favorable weather on launch day.
Be sure to follow along during the live coverage events below.
NASA EDGE Tower Rollback Show, Friday, Sept. 14, at 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT)
Watch live at:
NASA TV: www.nasa.gov/nasalive
NASA EDGE Facebook: www.facebook.com/nasaedgefan
NASA LSP Facebook: www.facebook.com/NASALSP
NASA EDGE YouTube: www.youtube.com/NASAedge
NASA EDGE Ustream: www.usream.tv/nasaedge
Guests:

Thomas Zurbuchen, associate administrator for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate in Washington
Doug McLennan, ICESat-2 project manager, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Kelly Brunt, ICESat-2 science team member, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Rex Engelhardt, mission manager, NASA’s Launch Services Program
Mic Woltman, chief, Fleet Systems Integration Branch, NASA’s Launch Services Program
Tim Dunn, launch director, NASA Kennedy Space Center
Tom Neumann, ICESat-2 deputy project scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Donya Douglas-Bradshaw, ATLAS instrument project manager, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Dana VanDersaral, mission assurance team, United Launch Alliance

Live Launch Coverage, Saturday, Sept. 15, 5:10 a.m. PDT (8:10 a.m. EDT)
Join us for updates from the countdown, here on the blog and on NASA TV.

Note: All formatting and links have been removed - click title or image to see full article.

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod