Home » News & Blogs » Russian Soyuz MS-19 film crew arrives ‘on set’ at Space Station
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

Russian Soyuz MS-19 film crew arrives ‘on set’ at Space Station

5 Oct 2021, 15:45 UTC
Russian Soyuz MS-19 film crew arrives ‘on set’ at Space Station
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The crew of Soyuz MS-19. From left to right: Actress Yulia Peresild, cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov and film director Klim Shipenko. Credit: Roscosmos
The Russian Soyuz MS-19 crewed spacecraft launched to the International Space Station on a mission to film scenes for a feature-length movie set aboard the orbiting outpost.
Liftoff took place atop a Soyuz 2.1a rocket at 4:55 a.m. EDT (8:55 UTC) Oct. 5, 2021, from Site 31 at Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Aboard was professional Russian cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov, 49, as well as a Russian film crew consisting of 38-year-old director Klim Shipenko and 37-year-old actress Yulia Peresild. Together, along with the help of several astronauts and cosmonauts already aboard the International Space Station, they are set to film the first feature-length movie partially set aboard the orbiting outpost.
Soyuz MS-19 launches with Russian actress Yulia Peresild, cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov and film director Klim Shipenko. Credit: Roscosmos
After launch, Soyuz MS-19 and its crew arrived at the ISS in just two orbits of Earth. The spacecraft was set for an autonomous docking with the Earth-facing port of the Rassvet module shortly after 8 a.m. EDT (12:00 UTC). However, the KURS docking system — the system used for autonomous ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod