Home » News & Blogs » ESA Celebrates Launch of Copernicus Sentinel-6 Mission
Bookmark and Share
Parabolic Arc

ESA Celebrates Launch of Copernicus Sentinel-6 Mission

21 Nov 2020, 20:50 UTC
ESA Celebrates Launch of Copernicus Sentinel-6 Mission
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket lifts off with the Copernicus Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich satellite from Vandenberg Air Force Base. (Credits: ESA – S. Corvaja)

VANDENBERG AIR FORCE BASE, Calif. (ESA PR) — The Copernicus Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich satellite has been launched into orbit around Earth on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket. Using the latest radar altimetry technology, this new satellite is set to provide a new overview of ocean topography and advance the long-term record of sea-surface height measurements that began in 1992 – measurements that are essential for climate science, for policy-making and, ultimately, for protecting the lives of millions at risk of sea-level rise.

Carrying the 1.2 tonne Sentinel-6 satellite, the Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from the Vandenberg Air Force Base in California, US, at 17:17 GMT (18:17 CET, 09:17 PST) on 21 November. The satellite was delivered into orbit just under an hour after liftoff and contact was established at the ground station in Alaska at 19:49 CET.

ESA’s Director of Earth Observation Programmes, Josef Aschbacher, said, “I’m extremely proud to have seen Copernicus Sentinel-6 liftoff this evening and know that it’s well on its way to starting its mission of continuing the measurements of sea ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod