Home » News & Blogs » SpaceX’s Dragon aims to dodge hurricane for homecoming of two NASA astronauts
Bookmark and Share
Geekwire

SpaceX’s Dragon aims to dodge hurricane for homecoming of two NASA astronauts

1 Aug 2020, 19:53 UTC
SpaceX’s Dragon aims to dodge hurricane for homecoming of two NASA astronauts
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

NASA astronaut Chris Cassidy hands a U.S. flag to his crewmate, Doug Hurley, during a farewell ceremony on the International Space Station. The flag flew into space on the first and the last NASA space shuttle mission, and had been set aside on the space station for the first post-shuttle crew to return to the station on a U.S.-built spacecraft. (NASA via YouTube)
NASA and SpaceX are going ahead with plans to bring NASA astronauts Doug Hurley and Bob Behnken home from the International Space Station for a splashdown this weekend, even though Hurricane Isaias is heading for Florida’s Atlantic coast.
Fortunately, SpaceX’s Dragon capsule is heading for waters off Florida’s other coast.
NASA said weather conditions are all systems go for the targeted site in the Gulf of Mexico, close to Pensacola, as well as for an alternate site off the coast of Panama City, Fla. That opened the way for preparations to proceed for the Dragon Endeavour to undock at 7:34 p.m. ET (4:34 p.m. PT) today, with a splashdown set for 2:41 p.m. ET (11:41 a.m. PT) Sunday.
The plan could be adjusted, before or after the docking, if the weather forecast changes. NASA and SpaceX had ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod