Home » News & Blogs » Going back to Cali! SpaceX launches RADARSAT for Canadian Space Agency
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

Going back to Cali! SpaceX launches RADARSAT for Canadian Space Agency

12 Jun 2019, 16:13 UTC
Going back to Cali! SpaceX launches RADARSAT for Canadian Space Agency
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Archive photo of SpaceX Falcon 9 launching from Vandenberg Air Force Base’s Space Launch Complex 4E. Photo Credit: USAF
LOMPOC, Calif. — SpaceX successfully completed the company’s second launch of 2019 from Vandenberg Air Force Base’s Space Launch Complex 4 East in California. Today’s flight continues pushing the company’s busy 2019 flight manifest.
One of SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rockets ferried the RADARSAT Constellation Mission (or “RCM” for short) on the first leg of its journey on behalf of the Canadian Space Agency. Three of the satellites made up the payload for today’s flight.
Each of the RCM satellites sent aloft weigh in at about 3,150 pounds (1,429 kg) and were built by MDA. RCM-1 was deployed 54 minutes after it had left the pad with the other two satellites released in four minute intervals after that. The last of the trio was deployed one hour and two minutes after lifting off. The satellites launched today are identical C-band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) Earth observation satellites.
The mission got underway at 10:17 a.m. EDT (7:17 a.m. PDT; 1417 GMT) using the B1051.2 first stage core to lift its precious cargo off the pad.
This booster core was last used ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod