Home » News & Blogs » Timeline of the Falcon 9 rocket’s launch of the Radarsat Constellation Mission
Bookmark and Share
Spaceflight Now

Timeline of the Falcon 9 rocket’s launch of the Radarsat Constellation Mission

12 Jun 2019, 13:02 UTC
Timeline of the Falcon 9 rocket’s launch of the Radarsat Constellation Mission
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Follow the key events of the Falcon 9 rocket’s ascent to orbit with three Earth observation satellites for Canada’s Radarsat Constellation Mission.
The 229-foot-tall (70-meter) rocket will lift off Wednesday at 7:17 a.m. PDT (10:17 a.m. EDT; 1417 GMT) from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The Falcon 9’s first stage booster, which previously completed a launch and landing in March, will return for a propulsive touchdown at Vandenberg around eight minutes later.
Data source: SpaceX
T-0:00:00: Liftoff
After the rocket’s nine Merlin 1D engines pass an automated health check, the Falcon 9 is released from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California.
T+0:01:03: Max-Q
The Falcon 9 rocket reaches Max Q, the point of maximum aerodynamic pressure. The first stage’s nine Merlin 1D engines produce about 1.7 million pounds of thrust.
T+0:02:13: MECO
The Falcon 9’s nine Merlin 1D engines shut down.
T+0:02:17: Stage 1 Separation
The Falcon 9’s first stage separates from the second stage moments after MECO.
T+0:02:24: Stage 2 Ignition
The second stage Merlin 1D vacuum engine ignites for an approximately 6-minute burn to inject the Radarsat Constellation Mission satellites into a parking orbit.
T+0:02:48: Fairing Jettison
The ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod