Home » News & Blogs » SpaceX and NASA complete historic rendezvous with the ISS
Bookmark and Share
All About Space

SpaceX and NASA complete historic rendezvous with the ISS

4 Mar 2019, 10:32 UTC
SpaceX and NASA complete historic rendezvous with the ISS
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

The SpaceX Crew Dragon is docked to the station’s international docking adapter which is attached to the forward end of the Harmony module. Image credit: SpaceX
For the first time in history, a commercially-built and operated American crew spacecraft and rocket, which launched from American soil, made its way to the International Space Station (ISS). The SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft lifted off at 7:49 a.m. GMT (2:49 a.m. EST) 2 March 2019 on the company’s Falcon 9 rocket from Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Centre in Florida, United States.
After making 18 orbits of Earth since its launch early Saturday morning, the Crew Dragon spacecraft successfully attached to the ISS’ Harmony module forward port via “soft capture” at 10:51 a.m. GMT (5:51 a.m. EST) on 3 March 2019 while the station was travelling more than 400 kilometres (250 miles) over the Pacific Ocean, just north of New Zealand.
“Today’s successful launch marks a new chapter in American excellence, getting us closer to once again flying American astronauts on American rockets from American soil,” says NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine on 2 March 2019. “I proudly congratulate the SpaceX and NASA teams for this major milestone in our nation’s space ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod