Home » News & Blogs » Launch timeline for SpaceX’s eighth mission for Iridium
Bookmark and Share
Spaceflight Now

Launch timeline for SpaceX’s eighth mission for Iridium

11 Jan 2019, 14:35 UTC
Launch timeline for SpaceX’s eighth mission for Iridium
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Follow the key events of the Falcon 9 rocket’s ascent to orbit with the another set of 10 next-generation satellites for Iridium’s voice and data relay fleet.
The 229-foot-tall (70-meter) rocket will lift off Friday at 7:31 a.m. PST (10:31 a.m. EST; 1531 GMT) from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.
Data source: SpaceX
T-0:00:00: Liftoff
After the rocket’s nine Merlin 1D engines pass an automated health check, the Falcon 9 is released from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California.
T+0:01:01: Max-Q
The Falcon 9 rocket reaches Max Q, the point of maximum aerodynamic pressure. The first stage’s nine Merlin 1D engines produce about 1.7 million pounds of thrust.
T+0:02:27: MECO
The Falcon 9’s nine Merlin 1D engines shut down.
T+0:02:30: Stage 1 Separation
The Falcon 9’s first stage separates from the second stage moments after MECO.
T+0:02:38: Stage 2 Ignition
The second stage Merlin 1D vacuum engine ignites for an approximately 6-minute burn to inject the Iridium Next satellites into a parking orbit.
T+0:03:13: Fairing Jettison
The 5.2-meter (17.1-foot) diameter payload fairing jettisons once the Falcon 9 rocket ascends through the dense lower atmosphere. The 43-foot-tall fairing is made of ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod