FEATURED IMAGE: 6 Nov 2018, 15:00 UTC | ALMA and MUSE Detect Galactic Fountain 14 November 2018, 7:38:52UTC RSS RSS | About | Contact | Site Map
Home » News & Blogs » NASA’s IceSat-2 Satellite Set for Launch From Vandenberg on Saturday
Bookmark and Share
Parabolic Arc

NASA’s IceSat-2 Satellite Set for Launch From Vandenberg on Saturday

14 Sep 2018, 18:20 UTC
NASA’s IceSat-2 Satellite Set for Launch From Vandenberg on Saturday
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

This image shows the ATLAS instrument inside a Goddard cleanroom where the instrument was assembled. (Credits: NASA/D. McCallum)
NASA’s Ice, Cloud and land Elevation Satellite-2, or ICESat-2, a mission to measure the changing height of Earth’s ice, is scheduled to launch Saturday, Sept. 15, with a 40-minute window opening at 5:46 a.m. PDT (8:46 a.m. EDT).
The spacecraft will lift off from Space Launch Complex 2 (SLC-2) at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California on the final launch of a United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket. The U.S. Air Force 30th Space Wing weather officer reported they are predicting a 100 percent chance of favorable weather on launch day.
Be sure to follow along during the live coverage events below.
NASA EDGE Tower Rollback Show, Friday, Sept. 14, at 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT)
Watch live at:
NASA TV: www.nasa.gov/nasalive
NASA EDGE Facebook: www.facebook.com/nasaedgefan
NASA LSP Facebook: www.facebook.com/NASALSP
NASA EDGE YouTube: www.youtube.com/NASAedge
NASA EDGE Ustream: www.usream.tv/nasaedge
Guests:

Thomas Zurbuchen, associate administrator for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate in Washington
Doug McLennan, ICESat-2 project manager, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Kelly Brunt, ICESat-2 science team member, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Rex Engelhardt, mission manager, NASA’s Launch Services Program
Mic Woltman, ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod