Home » News & Blogs » Watch SpaceX launch NASA’s TESS telescope to survey the sky for alien planets
Bookmark and Share
Geekwire

Watch SpaceX launch NASA’s TESS telescope to survey the sky for alien planets

16 Apr 2018, 15:00 UTC
Watch SpaceX launch NASA’s TESS telescope to survey the sky for alien planets
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

An artist’s conception shows the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite. (NASA Illustration)
NASA and SpaceX are kicking off the next stage in the hunt for planets beyond our solar system with today’s scheduled launch of the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite, or TESS.
Liftoff aboard a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket is scheduled for 6:32 p.m. ET (3:32 p.m. PT) from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. Forecasters are setting the chances of acceptable weather at 80 percent, with strong winds listed as the main concern.
Coverage of the countdown is set to start at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT) on NASA’s streaming video channels, and SpaceX is planning a webcast as well. If the launch team misses today’s 30-second launch window, there’s a backup opportunity on Tuesday.
After launch, SpaceX will aim to land the Falcon 9’s first-stage booster on the deck of an autonomous landing ship stationed hundreds of miles out in the Atlantic Ocean.

The spacecraft, which is just a little smaller than a subcompact car, will be maneuvered into an unusual Earth orbit that ranges in altitude from roughly 63,000 to 200,000 miles. From that vantage point, TESS will keep tabs on 200,000 of the brightest stars ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod