Home » News & Blogs » Watch LIVE: NASA launches its next planet-hunting mission
Bookmark and Share
All About Space

Watch LIVE: NASA launches its next planet-hunting mission

12 Apr 2018, 11:02 UTC
Watch LIVE: NASA launches its next planet-hunting mission
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

NASA’s Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS), is the American space agency’s next step in the hunt for worlds beyond our Solar System, in particular those that could support life. It’s expected that TESS will catalogue thousands of planet candidates, vastly increasing the current number of known exoplanets, identifying new targets for more comprehensive follow-up studies.
TESS is scheduled to launch on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket no earlier than Monday 16 April at approximately 6:32pm (EDT)/ 23:32pm (BST), with the entire event being streamed above. Before that, you can enjoy prelaunch coverage to be aired on 15 April. The schedule is as follows:
Sunday 15 April
NASA Social Mission Overview – 11am (EDT)/4pm (BST)
* Martin Still, TESS program scientist at NASA Headquarters
* Tom Barclay, TESS scientist at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center
* Jenn Burt, Torres postdoctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
* Zach Berta-Thompson, assistant professor at the University of Colorado, Boulder
* Natalia Guerrero, TESS researcher at MIT
* Robert Lockwood, TESS spacecraft program manager with Orbital ATK
* Hans Koenigsmann, vice president of Build and Flight Reliability at SpaceX
* Jesse Christiansen, staff scientist with the NASA Exoplanet Science Institute at Caltech

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod