Home » News & Blogs » Watch ISS spacewalk Thursday
Bookmark and Share
EarthSky Blog

Watch ISS spacewalk Thursday

13 Feb 2018, 15:11 UTC
Watch ISS spacewalk Thursday
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Image via NASA.
On Thursday, February 15, 2018, two astronauts will venture outside the International Space Station (ISS) to move components for the station’s robotic system into long-term storage.
Live coverage of the spacewalk is scheduled to air on NASA TV, beginning at 10:30 UTC (5:30 a.m. EST; translate to your timezone). The spacewalk itself is scheduled to begin at about 12:10 UTC (7:10 a.m. EST) and last about 6 hours.
NASA astronaut Mark Vande Hei captured this selfie with his helmet visor up during a spacewalk on January 23, 2018. Image via NASA.
The two spacewalkers are Expedition 54 Flight Engineers Mark Vande Hei of NASA and Norishige Kanai of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency. The spacewalk will be the fourth spacewalk in Vande Hei’s career and the first for Kanai, who will become the fourth Japanese astronaut to walk in space. Vande Hei will wear the suit bearing the red stripes and Kanai’s suit will have no stripes.
Here’s what the spacewalkers will be doing outside the station on Thursday, according to a NASA statement:
[They] will move a Latching End Effector (LEE), or hand, for the Canadian-built robotic arm, Canadarm2, from a payload attachment on the ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod