Home » News & Blogs » This Week's "Planet Earth Report" --The Zombie Gene, Antarctica's Super Volcano to 1st Alien Contact -Extinction or Salvation?
Bookmark and Share
The Daily Galaxy

This Week's "Planet Earth Report" --The Zombie Gene, Antarctica's Super Volcano to 1st Alien Contact -Extinction or Salvation?

11 Nov 2017, 03:13 UTC
This Week's "Planet Earth Report" --The Zombie Gene, Antarctica's Super Volcano to 1st Alien Contact -Extinction or Salvation?
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

This week's link to 10 headline stories from around the world on the threats, opportunities, and dangers facing our fragile planet --along with an occasional dash of humor, popular culture, and a conspiracy theory or two.
NASA Will Launch E. Coli into Space to Study Human Antibiotic Resistance

E. coli, a common bacterial pathogen responsible for millions of urinary tract infections and foodborne illnesses every year, will blast off to the International Space Station (ISS) on Saturday (Nov. 11) to take part in a study of antibiotic resistance.
The E. coli AntiMicrobial Satellite (EcAMSat) mission is scheduled to launch to the ISS on Orbital ATK's Cygnus cargo spacecraft at 7:37 a.m. EST (1237 GMT) along with a slew of other science experiments and supplies for the Expedition 53 crew. You can watch the launch live on Space.com, beginning at 7 a.m. EST (1100 GMT), courtesy of NASA TV. [Preview: Weird Science Experiments Launching to Space Station Early Saturday]
After the E. coli samples arrive at the ISS, the experiment will examine how microgravity affects the bacteria's ability to thrive while exposed to antibiotics. Since humans started using antibiotics in the mid-20th century, pathogens like E. coli have evolved ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod