Home » News & Blogs » Technical issue causes third scrub of NROL-52 mission
Bookmark and Share
SpaceFlight Insider

Technical issue causes third scrub of NROL-52 mission

7 Oct 2017, 06:00 UTC
Technical issue causes third scrub of NROL-52 mission
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

An Atlas V rocket with the NROL-52 mission stands on the pad at Space Launch Complex 41. Photo Credit: Tom Cross / SpaceFlight Insider
CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. — Just when it looked like the angry gods of weather had acquiesced, an issue with a telemetry transmitter on a United Launch Alliance (ULA) Atlas V 421 rocket caused a third delay. The rocket and its payload, a satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office, will be rolled back to the Vertical Integration Facility at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station’s Space Launch Complex 41.
The previous NROL-52 mission launch delays on Oct. 5 and 6 were weather related, with high winds being a contributing factor to at least one of those scrubs. Weather for the third attempt was expected to be much better with a 70 percent chances of acceptable conditions at the 3:59 a.m. EDT (07:59 GMT) opening of the launch window. But at about 1 a.m. EDT (05:00 GMT), the scrub was called.
ULA issued the following statement:
“The launch of a United Launch Alliance Atlas V carrying the NROL-52 mission was scrubbed today due to an issue with a telemetry transmitter on the launch vehicle. The team will replace and ...

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod