Home » News & Blogs » Cassini’s final encounter with Titan
Bookmark and Share
EarthSky Blog

Cassini’s final encounter with Titan

21 Apr 2017, 11:21 UTC
Cassini’s final encounter with Titan NASA/JPL-Caltech

NASA’s Cassini spacecraft – which has been orbiting Saturn, weaving among its rings and moons since 2004 and which now is nearly out of fuel – will make its final close flyby of Saturn’s largest moon, haze-enshrouded Titan, this weekend. Closest approach to Titan is planned for 11:08 p.m. PDT on April 21 (2:08 a.m. EDT or 6:08 UTC on April 22; translate UTC to your time zone). During the encounter, Cassini will pass as close as 608 miles (979 km) above Titan’s surface at a speed of about 13,000 mph (21,000 kph). NASA said:

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Advertise PTTU

NASA Picture of the Day

Astronomy Picture of the Day

astronomy_pod