Home » News & Blogs » SpaceX to Webcast Falcon 9 Static Fire on Monday
Bookmark and Share
Parabolic Arc

SpaceX to Webcast Falcon 9 Static Fire on Monday

28 Apr 2012, 15:00 UTC
SpaceX to Webcast Falcon 9 Static Fire on Monday
(200 words excerpt, click title or image to see full post)

Hawthorne, CA (SPACEX PR) –- On Monday, April 30, Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX) will webcast a static fire test of the Falcon 9 rocket’s nine powerful Merlin engines in preparation for the company’s upcoming launch.
The webcast, available at www.spacex.com, is set to begin at 2:30 PM ET/ 11:30 AM PT, with the actual static fire targeted for 3:00 PM ET/ 12:00 PM PT.
The 9 engine test will take place at the company’s Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station as part of a full launch dress rehearsal leading up to the second Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS) launch. During the rehearsal, SpaceX engineers will run through all countdown processes as though it were launch day. The exercise will end with all nine engines firing at full power for two seconds.
After the test, SpaceX will conduct a thorough review of all data as engineers make final preparations for the upcoming launch, currently targeted for May 7. SpaceX plans to launch its Dragon spacecraft into low-Earth orbit atop a Falcon 9 rocket. During the mission, Dragon’s sensors and flight systems will be subject to a series of tests to determine if the vehicle is ...

Note: All formatting and links have been removed - click title or image to see full article.

Comment on this Post

* :
* :
:
* :
:
* required

Latest Vodcast

Latest Podcast

Most Popular Video

Advertise PTTU

Extrasolar Planets

  • Planetary Systems: 1135
  • Multiple Planet Systems: 467
  • Planets: 1821
more

NASA POD

Astronomy POD

astronomy_pod